

2019 Format

INTRODUCTION

In order to foster inter-harbor PHRF competition, SBYC invites PHRF member boats from Ventura, Channel Islands, and beyond to compete in a series of 'ocean races'. The A class winner of this series will receive the SBYC Wilson Perpetual, which was gifted in 1976 for blue water ocean racing around the Channel Islands. The B class winner of the series will receive the SBYC Iddings-Anniversary Trophy.

The format utilizes an event from the existing Island Series races of SBSC and PBYC, and additional regattas run by SBYC.



The Wilson Perpetual

1 SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

The following regattas comprise the Wilson Series:

- 1. Tower Race (March 16)
- 2. **Hardway** (May 18)
 - a. PHRF A fleet Hardway course only for Wilson points.
 - b. PHRF B fleet Coastal Spinnaker Course only for Wilson points.
- 3. **Fulmor** (Jul 13-14)
- 4. Santa Barbara to King Harbor (July 26)
- 5. **Tower Race #2** (October 19)

2. RULES

- 2.1 This series will be governed by the rules as defined in the *Racing Rules of Sailing* (*RRS*).
- 2.2 Current PHRF "Random Leg" (RLC) ratings will be used for all legs, unless otherwise stated by the race SIs.
- 2.3 The US Sailing Safety Equipment Requirements for each race will be defined by each race's Sailing Instructions.

3 ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- 3.1 Valid PHRF of Southern California class member boats may be entered by a member of any US Sailing recognized yacht club or equivalent sailing organization.
- 3.2 Eligible boats will be considered entered when they complete entry and sail in at least three of the included events. If fewer than five races are completed, eligible boats will be considered entered if they complete entry enter and sail in half the completed races.

4 CLASS DESIGNATIONS

Class splits will be as follows:

PHRF A – Boats with a base Random Leg Courses (RLC) rating of 54 & less.

PHRF B – Boats with a base Random Leg Course (RLC) rating of 55 & greater.

5 COURSES

Exact courses will be described in the Sailing Instructions for each race.

6 SCORING FOR THE SERIES

- 6.1 The low-point scoring system of RRS, Appendix A will apply, except that:
 - (i.) When fewer than five (5) races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the sum of her race scores.
 - (ii.) When 5 races have been completed, a boat's series score will be the sum of her races scores excluding her worst score.
- 6.2 Ties not decided under Appendix A will be broken in favor of the yacht with the lowest combined corrected time for all races sailed by both tied boats.
- Any race in the Wilson Series that is abandoned or is not raced (due to lack of participation, or inability to establish a class, or for any other reason) will result in no scores for that race (i.e. no DNC's) for any of the boats for the purposes of the Wilson Series.
- 6.4 Two (2) races are required to be completed to constitute a series.

7 PRIZES

- 7.1 The Wilson Cup trophy will be awarded to the PHRF A class boat with the lowest overall score for the series.
- 7.2 The Iddings Anniversary trophy will be awarded to the PHRF B class boat with the lowest overall score for the series.
- 7.3 Individual trophies and perpetual trophy will be awarded to the top overall winners for each race, but all perpetual trophies will reside at the host clubs.

8 COMMERCIAL TRAFFIC

Boats shall conform at all times to regulations regarding commercial traffic. In particular, boats shall exercise caution while sailing legs that cross the shipping channel north of the Channel Islands.

9 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Participants in this event compete entirely at their own risk. See Rule 4, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

10 FURTHER INFORMATION

For more information, please contact SBYC Race Director: (805) 965 8112 - racing@sbyc.org - www.sbyc.org